My Secret Life… Busted!

my secret lifeI started blogging not too long ago and it has made such a positive impact on my life. It’s helped me cope with my issues, emotions, and most importantly helped me connect with a whole community of women who are going through the same hurdle. As time passes, I get more and more involved in social media and I find my virtual life super fun.. to bad my husband doesn’t share the same enthusiasm.

In real life though, none of my friends and family know of my WordPress blogs, my twitter and videos on you tube, not even my husband. That is, until last night. I don’t feel ready to have people so close to me know this much detail about me and the way I feel, not even my parents. That sounded less weird in my head.

My husband is a very private person and gets upset at even some topics I’ll discuss with my girlfriends. It’s not that he hides things, he just doesn’t like to discuss some topics with other people.. and I’m the opposite, I’m an open book (usually) and love to talk about every tiny detail of the most inappropriate things… let me rephrase that, there is no inappropriate topic for me.  I loooove my girlie talks with my BFFs and there are no boundaries between us.

Husband won’t even go on Facebook…I’ve been on Facebook for years and I’ve always like it, but I had never opened my life like I’m doing now. I’ve had this feeling that one day he’ll catch up to my shit and will be pissed once he knows that I’m writing and that a bunch of strangers (no offense) are reading it. So I decided to test my waters.

Last night I told him I have been blogging and how it has helped me cope with my emotions.He wanted to know who was reading it. I explained that none of our friends even know that I’m doing this so they will most likely never even read it, especially since it’s completely separate from my Facebook account.

He was all over the place saying that there are a ton of pervs out there and blah, blah, blah… but he shared with me that when he was backpacking in Australia years ago, he found himself discussing really personal things with complete strangers. So I held on to that with all my she-ha powers! Maybe there’s hope that he’ll understand, accept it, or even embrace it… maybe that’s pushing it…

It sucks because I’m really into this and I don’t want to stop. I blog about infertility now, but hope to one day blog about pregnancy, then about kids, then about travelling, cooking, crafting… I don’t plan on ever stopping. But how can I get him to support me? I usually talk to myself while I drive so I recently started making videos and posting on YouTube. Needless to say he was not happy about that… but I was really hoping that he would eventually come around and make videos with me.

Did any of you have the same issue? Any suggestions on how I can convert my husband to social media?

About Love,DANI

I have recently developed Obsessive Compulsive Blogging Disorder in order to mask the fact that my ability to procreate might be fully dependent on my bank account balance. Some think I'm bossy others think I'm soft, but the truth is I'm a sugglebunny she-ra wine drinking slave working alpha bitch that just wants to have some goddamn babies. www.LOVEcomaMOM.wordpress.com is something I've always wanted to do since I was a kid and decided to write down all the things my mom did wrong but blogs didn't exist. So I take notes of things I want to teach my imaginary kids, good and bad. You'll find that I fluctuate between loving and crazy wannabe mom. I hope my kids will read this someday. www.LOVEcomaDANI.wordpress.com This one is for my bitches and I write about whatever I want, whatever thought is on my mind that day. Beware, I freely curse ad I'm a firm believer that swear words are here to emphasize my thoughts.

Posted on May 1, 2014, in Facebook sucks, Spontaneity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I mentioned that I have a secret blog for this to my husband and he shrugged it off. He said Yeah right! You writing.. I don’t believe it. I’m pretty sure if he actually believed me he wouldn’t be happy with it either. So I have decided not to bring it up again unless he asks.

    I wouldn’t know how to get my husband to be on board either.

  2. Babysitter Diaries

    My husband isn’t big on the whole thing either but let’s me do what I want. I couldn’t imagine not blogging, I’ve done it through one website or another for quite some time. He knows about it but it’s not something I share with my friends or other family. There is something so comforting about letting it all out to strangers.

  3. This is going to be so hard… I have no secrets from him. I tell him even my most private thoughts, things that no one should or need to know about one another.. idk why, its in my nature to be open like that. He said he won’t read it if I don’t want him to..
    I wish he would just do this with me, together…I’m gonna try to follow your example(s) and keep my mouth shut for once…

  4. Mine was resistant at first until he realized news (particularly sports related) hits social media way before mainstream news. He doesn’t use it actively for conversation but he does use it to follow athletes and topics of interest. Maybe that’s a way to get your hubs into it? Find a way to make a connection between social media and something he enjoy!

Leave a Reply

