Cycle Update – No Longer Unmonitored

heartI went to see IVF Doctor#2 this week… he’s not an IVF pusher like IVF Doctor #1 at all!! But the bad side is that none of my appointments will be covered for IUI because here in Hawaii only IVF is covered, and only once. The cost for an IUI cycle with Doctor#2 was too high for me to pay 100% out of pocket…

I left kinda bummed because I really liked him and he showed so much confidence that we would get pregnant with IUI, that we didn’t need IVF… it gave me peace of mind. It was almost like I got a massage. On a side note, turns out that IVF Doctor #1 was billing all my scans (to my insurance) as a regular visit instead of for infertility, which is fraud, according to Doctor #2. Fucking scary because Doc #1 could try to collect the full price from me one day. Of course I wouldn’t pay it because I was never informed of this but still, it would be messy… I was really surprised because he’s really well known here in Hawaii.

Anyways, back to the topic. Doc #2 is pretty much giving me a 50% discount. I would normally pay around $900 out of pocket, depending on how many scans ($250 per scan), but he offered to do my cycle for $300 for as many scans as I needed + $87 for the IUI. Plus my gonal which I would have to pay out of pocket even if my appointments were covered, and that’s $230 per gonal pen (including ovidrel). Expensive, but worth it.

I went to his office yesterday morning to see what my ovaries were up to. Got 4 follicles measuring 10.8mm on my left ovary, lining is trilaminar at 5.6mm, and doctor #2 (says) he’s scared for me and if I ovulate all four he wont do my IUI. I told him a pregnancy with multiples doesnt scare me but he was adamant about it. Little does he know that doctor #3 ( aaka ghetto doctor) will. But I have time to think about it and one other scan on Tuesday to see where this is going. I’ll be happy with 2 nice eggies + IUI.

As I’m laying there on the table, waiting with my feet on the stirrups for the doctor to come in I started writing my post because he was taking a while. Husband was just sitting next to me and asks if I’m writing for the blog and as you well know, he’s not a fan of the blog thing. After a quick pep talk I showed him what I was writing about and also shared my latest post from LOVEcomaMOM. He was really touched… it was a beautiful moment for us. Granted I was laying half naked with my feet up on stirrups and the scenery was far from romantic, but it was such a loving moment between us. I was so afraid of him reading my posts and in the end, it brought us together.

Love,

Dani

 

 

About Love,DANI

I have recently developed Obsessive Compulsive Blogging Disorder in order to mask the fact that my ability to procreate might be fully dependent on my bank account balance. Some think I'm bossy others think I'm soft, but the truth is I'm a sugglebunny she-ra wine drinking slave working alpha bitch that just wants to have some goddamn babies. www.LOVEcomaMOM.wordpress.com is something I've always wanted to do since I was a kid and decided to write down all the things my mom did wrong but blogs didn't exist. So I take notes of things I want to teach my imaginary kids, good and bad. You'll find that I fluctuate between loving and crazy wannabe mom. I hope my kids will read this someday. www.LOVEcomaDANI.wordpress.com This one is for my bitches and I write about whatever I want, whatever thought is on my mind that day. Beware, I freely curse ad I'm a firm believer that swear words are here to emphasize my thoughts.

Posted on May 4, 2014, in Cycle Update, fertility, Gonal-F, infertility, iui and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Ya! I’m glad to hear about this new doctor, sounds great to me! 4 follicles isn’t so bad, it’s funny how different doctors have different protocols. My husband isn’t too happy with my blog either, lol. They sound so similar sometimes!!

    • Im just gonna be so sad if he cancels my cycle because of me having 4 follicles. I feel like the odds of all 4 fertilizing is sooooo small! But he wouldnt wanna take the risk of putting me in a situation where i end up with quads that are all born with cerebral palsy and I have to take care if them forever, his words. But i see so many testimonials of women who had even mire than 4 and git one or none fertilized… Ghetto doctor says he’ll do it but i dont trust him much, he wants to put the sperm in my uterus pre-wash, which can cause a lot of pain. I guess the cervix canal does a natural wash before the spermies get in

      • Yea, I think the odds of all 4 fertilizing are low….but there is still a chance. Idk about ghetto doctor either. I think the wash is important, but hell, what do I know? I’m no doctor. Maybe it’s just a cheaper/easier way of doing it?

      • He says he likes to interfere with nature as little as possible, which sounded like poetry to me at the time. But when i got back to a computer and started researching about the wash I found out that for IUI you need to do it since the sperm wont be passing through the cervix’s natural sperm wash… I guess theres debri in there and can cause severe cramping. Google pictures if pre and post wash sperm, huge difference!

      • Yea, I’ve read it’s pretty important too! I’ve read you can get pretty sick from unwashed sperm being put directly in the uterus.

      • If thats the only way ill get my iui done, i think ill go forward with it though… I told him that not being pregnant was much worse than being pregnant with multiples..Doctor #2 said selective reduction can be bad too, like i could end up in bed rest for the whole pregnancy because of bleeding… Tuesday will be the decisive day!

      • Good luck with your decision!! Just do what’s right for you guys, that’s all you can do!

      • I don’t think DH would be down fir an IUI with 4 follicles… I cant wait for it to be Tuesday already so I can find out!

      • Ohh, gotcha! Yea, pretty sure mine wouldn’t be either! Hoping it’s just 3 on Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

