Today is a Beautiful Day to Make a Baby

beautiful dayAfter an awesome but rainy camping weekend with all our friends, today we woke up to a beautiful sunny Hawaiian day that just screamed perfection. I was in my best mood and it just felt like the perfect day to make a baby.

Husband’s collection was scheduled at 10:45 and the IUI at 11:45, but we chose to go together and just be with each other during the whole time. Everything was going perfect, the day was beautiful, we arrived early. We go to the lab to “perform” and they walk us to the collection room. Why didn’t anybody tell me how awkward this would be?

We were both weirded out by the room, the people walking by, the other couple waiting to use the room… so much pressure! I dont think I was supposed to go in there with him, but we knew it was going to be more fun if I did. We finally did what we had to do, delivered the cup to the lab and went to our IUI appointment which was 45 minutes later.

The procedure in itself is pretty simple and takes no time. It’s a like a pap-smear but involving a flexible tube that is connected to a syringe. My doctor made husband push the syringe, which was pretty cool, but we were surprised that the sperm count had gone down even though he has been doing everything right since we tarted all this. We were both surprised and a little disappointed. But there’s still hope and I need to hold on to that.

I don’t know how I’m going to spend the next 2 weeks without losing it though. She wants me to wait until 5/29/14 to test but that’s waaay too long! That’s 17 days post IUI! Is that even possible? I just really hope that this is it…

I’m happy that were finally doing taking this step. Husband seems to finally be convinced that we need the doctor’s help in order to move forward and I’m so grateful that both of us finally have the same understanding. But at the same time I’m a little sad… I don’t feel so confident… I’m anticipating a lot of anxiety for the next 2 weeks. :/

About Love,DANI

I have recently developed Obsessive Compulsive Blogging Disorder in order to mask the fact that my ability to procreate might be fully dependent on my bank account balance. Some think I'm bossy others think I'm soft, but the truth is I'm a sugglebunny she-ra wine drinking slave working alpha bitch that just wants to have some goddamn babies. www.LOVEcomaMOM.wordpress.com is something I've always wanted to do since I was a kid and decided to write down all the things my mom did wrong but blogs didn't exist. So I take notes of things I want to teach my imaginary kids, good and bad. You'll find that I fluctuate between loving and crazy wannabe mom. I hope my kids will read this someday. www.LOVEcomaDANI.wordpress.com This one is for my bitches and I write about whatever I want, whatever thought is on my mind that day. Beware, I freely curse ad I'm a firm believer that swear words are here to emphasize my thoughts.

Posted on May 13, 2014, in Cycle Update, Gonal-F, infertility, iui and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. How “bad” was the count? I’m sorry to hear that……it’s devastating finding that out. I’ve heard/read anything over 5 million is “enough” for an IUI. Please do not count yourself out just yet. I’m glad everything else went well, and that you & hubby are on the same page now….makes it so much easier!! So, did you end up having less than 3 follies? Or did you go to ghetto doctor?

    • Didnt need to go to ghetto doctor, thankfully! When we went on Saturday 1 follie grew to 17.7 and the other had shrunk to 13.8, so I asked her to up my dose so I would have 2 follies and I took 62.5IU of gonal on Sat, Sun and Mon morning. But we didnt do a scan before doing the IUI so I dont know. The post wash count was 5 million… she said above 20 million is what they want. I know Im not out cuz all we need is 1, but I definitely felt like I felt from a set of steps that day…

      • I totally hear ya. We’ve never had a sperm count above 17 million. Glad you didn’t have to go to ghetto doctor, I was worried about you getting sick.

      • I dont think it would have been that bad to do the IUI with no wash… I mean, how sick can you really get from a little sperm? But It definitely feels better to do it the right way. The count before the wash was 10 million, only 3 million got lost… Maybe its wishful thinking but I’m taking that as a positive sign that maybe the other parameters have improved even though the overall count went down..

      • It’s not the sperm that makes you sick, it’s all the seminal fluid (that is normally washed away naturally on its way up to your uterus. Yea, that sounds good to me too. Who knows. I honestly don’t know if there is any rhyme or reason why the counts are the way they are. My husband tried Clomid for 3 months….that did nothing. He also tried Fertility Blend for Men, and that did nothing.

      • Husband has been taking fertil-aid, fish oil, co-q10, beel pollen, and also took clomid this month and the count decreased by a lot! I wonder if Clomid worked against him somehow.. I’ve heard of that before…

      • I’ve been told it takes 3 solid months of any changes before you see a difference in sperm counts….so if he’s only been doing those things for 1 month you wouldn’t know for sure.

      • That’s what I heard too… But the thing is it’s been longer than 3 months since his 1st SA and he only made improvements since then… why the count went down by this much.. its beyond me.

Leave a Reply

