Ready… Set… Go IVF!

IVF

Aloha Kākou!

It’s finally time to get this party on the road! We met with the doctor and she went over all the details of our cycle. We discussed dos and dont’s, risks, legal questions, and schedule. We are very excited to become parents and can’t wait. It feels really good to get to the bottom of things and to be able to move forward with a heart renewed with hope.

Dos and Don’ts

I’m already doing a lot of the things that were on the schedule so that’s a good thing! Every day I’ve been taking baby aspirin, pre-natal vitamin, CoQ10 3 times a day, and fish oil. I also take bee pollen, extra folic acid, and B-complex. Exercise in moderation but no abdominal exercises. Check!  For pain I can only take Tylenol.

I can’t however consumer alcohol, drugs, coffee, or smoke. How am I going to live without my heroin??  I have to also avoid heavy weight lifting, big people aspirin, Advil, Motrin, antihistamines, and saunas or hot tubs. Great! Here is the hard part… I have to avoid  the sun! What the fuck doc, I live in Hawaii!! Is that even possible? Will sun block do the trick?

Husband has it easy… all he needs to do is not drink for a while and take fish oil 3 times a day. It’s a hard life.

Risks

During the egg retrieval there’s a small risk that when they put the needle through the vagina to reach the follicles they’ll hit other organs like the bladder or intestine, and although the risk is really minor cuz it never happens it was the scarier risk of all the ones we went over.

There’s also the risk of OHSS, which apparently I’m a good candidate for because of my PCOS. Worst case scenario people lose their ovary and sometimes even their life. It doe happen, but I think it’s mostly when the monitoring isn’t there. In my case, the concern with OHSS is mostly how high my estrogen and progesterone levels will get after the egg retrieval. I’m just hoping and praying we get to transfer these embryos this month.

The last risk I feel should belong in the “positive sides of IVF list” but it’s listed as a risk on my paperwork so… Pregnancy with multiples. The list goes on and on about all the things that can go wrong with multiples but all I hear is “babies”, plural!

Legal Questions

We also went over what would happen to our embryos.. What if one of us dies? What if we get divorced?  We chose to let the surviving partner decide what to do with the embryos if the other one dies. As to the divorce, my husband said they were mine to keep. We had a good laugh about this at the office because I said i was gonna implant 10 babies and he would have to pay me child support for life! We’re not divorcing though, so we’re good.

The most interesting one was what would happen to our unused embryos… We chose that they should go to research but I left the office with a bad feeling in my gut. I don’t want my embryos to die… husband and I have a lot to talk about!

Schedule

Birth control pills for almost a full month! Then I get my period and the shots will begin 3 days after the last birth control pill. The birth control pills are added to reduce the risk of OHSS, which is good. I like them a little bit more now.

I’ll be taking Menopur and Follistim at night for 10-11 nights and starting on day 6(estimate) I’ll add Ganirelix in the morning to stop me from ovulating early. Then 36 hours before the egg retrieval, its Novarel time.  Egg retrieval and transfer date are unknown at this point.

IVF makes the 2WW seem like baby talk! IVF is literally the 2WW on steroids! The waiting will have to eventually end and hopefully I’ll have to news to share with everyone. Keep us in your prayers.

Hope your cycle is going well!!

LOVE,

Dani

 

 

About Love,DANI

I have recently developed Obsessive Compulsive Blogging Disorder in order to mask the fact that my ability to procreate might be fully dependent on my bank account balance. Some think I'm bossy others think I'm soft, but the truth is I'm a sugglebunny she-ra wine drinking slave working alpha bitch that just wants to have some goddamn babies. www.LOVEcomaMOM.wordpress.com is something I've always wanted to do since I was a kid and decided to write down all the things my mom did wrong but blogs didn't exist. So I take notes of things I want to teach my imaginary kids, good and bad. You'll find that I fluctuate between loving and crazy wannabe mom. I hope my kids will read this someday. www.LOVEcomaDANI.wordpress.com This one is for my bitches and I write about whatever I want, whatever thought is on my mind that day. Beware, I freely curse ad I'm a firm believer that swear words are here to emphasize my thoughts.

Posted on June 25, 2014, in Cycle Update, fertility, infertility, ivf and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Leading up to our consult, it’s so nice to hear what your RE told you. Hopefully we aren’t too far behind you! What brand of BCP do they put you on?

  2. That’s a great news! I can’t wait to hear about everything. IVF just baffles me, I hope we never have to get to that point. And MAYBE you will get your twinsies!!!

    • Having twins is my silver lining on this whole thing… Its always been my dream since I was little girl. IVf is unbelievable! I’m so thankful that while I’m going through this technology has gotten to the point where they can totally bypass our shortcomings and help us become parents. I hope you dont have to do that either Vanna…. even though I might have twins, I would choose to have natural conception every time! There’s just something magical about it and I feel sad that I’ll (probably) never have that moment… but trying to focus on the important things!! 🙂 Thank you!

  3. Good luck! I can’t wait to hear more about your IVF journey. My first RE appointment is Tuesday july 1st. I’m excited to get to the bottom of things as well.

  4. SOooooooo excited for you!!! Hoping you get your twins, girl!

Leave a Reply

