18 weeks update

Doctor visit yesterday wasn’t so smooth. Nothing bad happened except that after a 3 hour wait to be seen by the doctor, I got scolded for gaining too much weight. Oops!

I called BS on the doctor’s scale but it didn’t convince him. Just 5 days ago, on Sunday, I had gained 12Lbs (according to my scale) and as of last night I was at 18lbs (as of his scale)! So just to be sure I weighted myself again on my scale and I was at 16lbs but still, how did I manage to gain 4lbs in 5 days? I don’t see that being possible even if I was trying! Either way, I now have to watch what I eat, but this is only valid for after the holidays right?

My acne issue was also a topic… it’s SO B-A-D! I’m breaking out really bad on my back, chest, scalp, and obviously face. My back looks like it was attacked by an alien. Not to mention the constant itching and painful areas. My face is oily, red and full of bumps all of the time. Considering I sit in an AC office all day and wash my face every morning and every night, you’d think I would be ok… NOT! It’s to the point where I wake up at night to itch. Let’s not even discuss the way I look.. although its bothering me a lot. I’ve always dreamed of being one of those beautiful pregnant women and I feel gross instead!

So Im gonna start doing a couple topical treatments as well a blue light therapy to take care of this acne in January. I hope I can have clear skin by the end of February or March at least.

We also discussed maternity leave and he said I could get started as early as 6 weeks before my due date but it’s all going to depend on my house situation. If we are able to close on this property soon and get the remodeling going and finished by April, then I could start maternity leave, but if it’s still ongoing that means that husband is still not working (cuz he’ll be working on the house) and I must fill in the income gap. We’ll see. At the very least I’ve set myself up so that during the last 2 months I work, I get to have every Friday off.. so that’s a relief. I’m so looking forward to leaving my job and being a mom.

How far along: 18 weeks 5 days

Total weight gain: Depends on your point of view… according to my scale Ive gained 14 lbs, according to the doctor’s scale Ive gained 18 lbs, either way Ive gained too much!

Maternity clothes: Yep.

Stretch marks: Nope!

Sleep: just the normal amount.. jo more napping throughout the day… thank God!

Best moment this week: Ultrasound last night. Since I don’t feel movement I get nervous that something is wrong.. the only thing that will calm me down is when I see baby moving on the screen.

Miss anything: having good skin

Movement: A few times I thought I felt something but everyone says its too soon for a first time mama to feel anything… I do pay close attention to movement and try to concentrate in trying to feel it but since my placenta is in the front it is harder to feel it I guess… ever since before Thanksgiving I havent felt anything… 😦

Anything making you sick: acne! Not sick in that sense of the word, but in the “gross” sense

Have you started to show: oh yes! Definitely… I started showing way early.

Gender: Its a boy!!!

Innie or outtie: definitely innie. My innie is the size of a pool too! I’ll be very surprised if I ever get an outtie. If it rains, you can go swimming inside my bellybutton and drown.

Happy or moody: I’ve been dealing better with my emotions lately…

Looking forward to: getting kicked from inside out!

 

LOVE,

Dani

About Love,DANI

I have recently developed Obsessive Compulsive Blogging Disorder in order to mask the fact that my ability to procreate might be fully dependent on my bank account balance. Some think I'm bossy others think I'm soft, but the truth is I'm a sugglebunny she-ra wine drinking slave working alpha bitch that just wants to have some goddamn babies. www.LOVEcomaMOM.wordpress.com is something I've always wanted to do since I was a kid and decided to write down all the things my mom did wrong but blogs didn't exist. So I take notes of things I want to teach my imaginary kids, good and bad. You'll find that I fluctuate between loving and crazy wannabe mom. I hope my kids will read this someday. www.LOVEcomaDANI.wordpress.com This one is for my bitches and I write about whatever I want, whatever thought is on my mind that day. Beware, I freely curse ad I'm a firm believer that swear words are here to emphasize my thoughts.

Posted on December 27, 2014, in 2nd Trimester, ivf pregnancy, Pregnancy, pregnant. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I for sure felt our little athlete around 16-17 so you probably are feeling him. Trust your instincts. Also don’t freak out if you don’t feel him for most of a day, he is probably sleeping.

    • Thanks Hannah! I don’t really freak out yet because i haven’t started feeling full movements yet, if there were breaks in between that would be a different story… I’m just excited for the kicking to start already!

  2. I need to see a picture of that sweet bump!

  3. I had acne the first trimester. I was breaking out on my neck which I never do! Nothing seemed to help it either. I just had to start covering it up and leaving it alone and it finally went away around 14 weeks. Hope your’s does too! And it’s not too soon to feel movement, even for a first time mom. It’s just too soon to feel it regularly. So you might get a questionable little pop (like a gas bubble or muscle tweak) and then nothing for a couple days so it doesn’t seem like a real baby movement. But once they get stronger and more regular you’ll be like- hey! that WAS movement!

    • I fontvthink this acne is going away unfortunately… my mom had warned me about it, apparently dhe had it even worse… Ive seen pictured, dhe had full on white headed zits, really gross. My are botherinh mostly because they itch a lot, snd they’re not very pleasing in the eye either… I live in Hawaii so its not like i can just hide it all the time eithet… But i started a treatment this week, its helped with the itching at least

      • yikes! The ones on my neck were itchy too. I took to lightly smacking my spots to make them stop itching, lol. Hope you get some relief soon!

  4. Everyone feels movement at different times. I didn’t feel my baby girl until late in week 20 and I had an anterior placenta. Also, don’t fret about the weight. I would have one appt where I’d gain 9 lbs in 3-4 weeks and lose 2 lbs three weeks later. I was only supposed to gain 11-20 and ended up closer to 40 at the end. Luckily my doctors were never concerned and didn’t say much about it. As long as your baby is fine that’s the important thing! Hope the rest of your pregnancy goes smoothly!

  5. Oh Dani! I’m sorry to hear you are feeling gross. It’s another challenge on the journey to montherhood. I hope you move through this phase quickly and get back to feeling like your beautiful self. ❤

Leave a Reply

